Elected Leaders

SPFE’s Executive Board and officers are responsible for directing the affairs and setting the strategic direction of our union. The President of SPFE acts as the organization’s chief executive officer and presides over the Executive Board. Assisting the President are other union officers: Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Director of Non-Licensed Staff, representing Educational Assistants and School and Community Service Professionals.

The Executive Board is comprised of 18 elected members and up to three members appointed by the President. Terms for officers and the Executive Board last two years and are staggered.

To get in touch with the Executive Board, email executiveboard@spfe28.org.

Leah VanDassor

SPFE President


Shantella Barnes

Vice President



Robyn Asher


Como Senior High


Jenny Konkel


Focus Beyond


Emily Storms

Expo Elementary

Ed Johnson

Central High School

Quentin Wathum-Ocama

Como Service Center

Chance Lunning

Highland Park Senior

Jay Wahi


Erin Thune

Bridge View

Cassandra Sheppard

Johnson High School

Javnika Shah

Hazel Park

Sarah Bosch

Horace Mann

Brian Hodge-Rice

Adams Spanish Immersion

See Pha Vang

Office of Teaching and Learning

Peggy Cobbins

Focus Beyond

Erica Schatzlein

Nokomis Montessori North