Ward 4 Special Election Questionnaire

There are three declared candidates running for the open Ward 4 City Council seat. This seat became open when Russ Stark took a job in Mayor Melvin Carter’s administration earlier this year. The three candidates are Shirley Erstad, Amy Schroder Ireland, and Mitra Jalali Nelson.

We asked each of these candidates to answer questions about public education and the future of Saint Paul. You can read their answers here.

All three of these candidates are seeking the DFL party endorsement at a special ward convention that will be held April 28th. The election of the next Ward 4 city council member will take place in August.

SPFT will hold an open screening of these candidates on Saturday, April 21st from 3pm – 5pm. All are invited to attend. Childcare will be available. Register and submit questions for the candidates here.